Friday Indulgence: Move out of your comfort zone

I realise this indulgence takes a little bit of explaining and might not be true to everyone. I’ll leave you with my reasoning as it is.

Let’s start by thinking why do we have  a comfort zone to begin with.

Wikipedia defines comfort zone as ‘a behavioural state within which a person operates in an anxiety-neutral condition, using a limited set of behaviours to deliver a steady level of performance, usually without a sense of risk’ and I dare say that in most of the cases the behaviours that do not cause us anxiety are the ones where we don’t confront people and opinions around us.

Let the one of you who never agreed with someone else  just to avoid an argument even when you didn’t share the same opinion raise your hand please.

And we live happily thinking that this way things will work better for us and others and we will be more successful in our  relationships , work and life in general.Sadly we are mistaken.

Alasdair A. K. White “From Comfort Zone to Performance Management”  defends that to step out of the comfort zone raises the anxiety level engendering a stress response, the result of which is an enhanced level of concentration and focus. He refers to this as the Optimal Performance Zone – a zone in which the performance of a person can be enhanced and in which their skills can be optimized.

Of corse that this risk taking must be controled( no one advises you to just try parachuting or bungee jumping if you’re afraid of heights).

The bottom line is that we should step out of our comfort zone and free ourselves from our own boundaries that do not give us real security but prevent us from doing new things and getting new responses from the ones that surround us.

So when we try something as simple as dressing in a color that we usually wouldn’t we can turn that small step into something bigger.

What was my small step, you may ask. Piercing my ears. For years (35 to be precise) I didn’t have my ears pierced and I knew that if I changed that people would notice and comment, so I never did it, until now.

The outcome is that ,yes people do notice it,but I do to. And I like it , strangely I feel more feminine and I see the possibilities that this brings me to add a major something to the way I feel about my image and the way I present myself .

So, what will be your small/big step?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 03:39:06

    A thought provoking post.
    Have a lovely weekend.
    And I look forward to seeing what you wear during the challenge.

    Reply

  2. everydayluxuries
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 09:57:25

    Ooh, I’ll have to think about this one. I like the idea of taking a small step in an “uncomfortable” direction.

    Reply

  3. Kari
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 19:43:15

    That’s definitely an intriguing post. I think I’ve slowly moved out of my comfort zone in the past few years in terms of being more gregarious, friendly, and outgoing. I used to feel *so* shy and would always shrink when I met strangers. Now I know that I can allow myself a few moments of observing, gauging the situation, and can feel comfortable striking up a conversation with someone easily.

    Style-wise, I think I’ve moved out of my comfort zone by adopting slightly edgier or more rugged pieces into my modern classic wardrobe.

    That’s neat that you pierced your ears at 35. My mom didn’t have pierced ears until she was in her 30’s, either. I had mine done as a kid, but had to repeat the process a couple times due to infections.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

