Question to the Fashion World

P7223522

Since I bought the August issue of ELLE CANADA and I saw this Trend Report where they announce that this Fall/Winter we are totally into tweed I’ve been meaning to ask: When was the last Fall/Winter season when tweed was not the it thing?

Don’t take me the wrong way, I do love tweed but every year they talk about it as if it was a novelty and when every year you talk about the same is hardly a novelty each year.

Perhaps I’ve been missing the subtleties of the cuts, the colors,or maybe the whole picture but my question is a serious one:

When was not tweed in fashion?

I mean it.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sher
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 20:20:43

    It’s all in the marketing concept LOL! How to make old “fresh” again ;D

    Reply

  2. Modest Mom
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 21:07:47

    Sort of reminds me of plaid and things of the sort. Always in style in some form.

    Sorry about the necklace incident. Parenting isn’t for sissies…lol.

    Reply

    • nurmisur
      Jul 22, 2009 @ 22:34:05

      Modest Mom – It’s true, some things are always on style, but with a little change so that the thing that you already have is not quite what it is in fashion.
      Parenting is really not for sissies πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. Kari
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 02:39:31

    I guess it’s just that even though it’s a classic item, we should expect more emphasis on tweed than what we saw previously?

    Reply

  4. Caroline
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 05:56:25

    Yeah – tartan is the same in the UK. EVERY winter tartan is “suddenly” fashionable again. If you have enough tartan and tweed you can get thrugh every winter without ever having to buy again!

    Of course, the shapes and shades always change very slightly… there’s a beautiful kilt-shaped grey tweed skirt in this month’s British Elle, for example, that I would sell my soul for… πŸ˜€

    Reply

  5. Monica
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 12:13:06

    I remember a couple of years ago, you couldn’t walk into any store with seeing tweed on the rack. It was very blown up. I guess it’s good to go out and buy tweed because it will just be in again next year. But you’re right, it is crazy how they make it seem new every year.

    Reply

  6. lydee
    Jul 29, 2009 @ 19:35:21

    lol! i can’t remember!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

