Didn’t know I was a Petite

(Attention, this is one of those talk talk talk posts)

I’ve  been thinking about this for a while but a comment that Seeker did on one of the posts made me decide to share it with you.

Right now I’m in a time in my life where I HAVE TO buy new clothes.Although you might realize the financial implications of this it’s still a very exciting project to build an functional wardrobe.

Thanks to some great fashion blogs that I came across(and I’ll talk about this in another post) right now I have a better understanding of what might or might not work for me .And I’ve been trying not to stray away from those things.The main difficulty in choosing clothes is that although I’m a SAHM I’m attracted to things like blazers and button down shirts that are not so practical to run around a baby especially in Spring/Summer(hopefully in the Fall this will change).So I’ve been in the search for clothes.

Like everybody else in my own turf(ie my country) I had brands that I already knew , that had a good fit for me and the type of clothes that I enjoyed.But they were portuguese brands and although they have stores in places like Kuwait they don’t have stores in Canada.

After some search I found some new brands I like.Don’t know if there is something in me that likes to support national brands but the fact is that my favorite brands right now are canadian.And that’s very well except for one small detail, proportions.

In my country and with the brands I usually wore I was a regular size, I mean I have an average height for a portuguese woman,shirts were as long as they were supposed to be.I knew the concept of petite but to me it was related with cute little women and I never though of myself as a cute little woman.It’s not that I have image issues, I just didn’t think that is the best way to describe me.

In Canada, with my new choices of brands, shirts are too long. Sometimes I can managed to make them work with pants but almost every one of them have to be shortened.And if that doesn’t bother me that much with button down shirts it does bother me with cotton shirts, thinking that besides the price I have to pay for them I have to pay for having them shortened  sometimes kills the love for the t-shirt.

But I prefer to see things on the bright side, in this country I’m a cute little thing 🙂 And that makes me wanna search other aspects of myself.Instead of forcing my body to look what it is not I’m now more willing to ’embrace the curves’,to try to show a softer and warmer side that was there all along but I kept hidden.It’s still a long road ahead but I enjoy the path of discovery.

How come something so simple can change the image that you have of yourself?This country has been doing some strange things to me and this is only one of them.I can only say that Change is good, sometimes is difficult but it’s when you learn more in every aspect and more importantly is when you learn more about yourself.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sher
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 14:05:30

    I’ve never shopped in Canada. Wonder if they even have my size? I’m 5ft 1inch.

    Reply

    • nurmisur
      Jun 29, 2009 @ 08:35:24

      Sher- In my book you are a cute little thing :)I’m 5ft 4.
      Yes, you can find lots of things and in fact there is the brand Laura that has a great variety of things in petite sizes that I think you would love.

      Reply

  2. The Seeker
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 18:13:33

    What have I done???? Was something wrong??? 😉

    So sweetie did you suppose you were a regular size…. 🙂 I think my goddaughter that has about 1,80m it’s a regular lol I’m just a bit taller than the average of the portuguese woman and sometimes petite fits me.

    And I totally agree with you “Change is good, sometimes is difficult but it’s when you learn more in every aspect and more importantly is when you learn more about yourself.”

    Thank you so much for your support, darling.

    I’m so short of time now I’m in a project of painting my house with Hubby… imagine… 😉 lol

    Take care, dear, all the best to all.

    xoxo

    Reply

    • nurmisur
      Jun 29, 2009 @ 08:44:31

      Seeker- You just put in writing something that I also felt.That’s why I like opinions because sometimes you don’t have real perception how things look on you because in your head you have yourown idea of yourself.
      Yes, you know for portuguese standars I’m average and in my family the only woman taller than me was one of my grandmothers.So I was shocked to realize how short I am compared to the rest of the world.But I’m enjoying the change.
      Good painting 🙂
      xoxo

      Reply

  3. elenalu
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 15:18:49

    5’5″ and under is considered petite in the states so maybe thats how canada does it too! im 5’0″ and so even the petite sizes are sometimes not right on me! its weird how being on one side or the other of the average can make it a little tough to get proper fitting clothes!!

    Reply

    • nurmisur
      Jul 02, 2009 @ 08:59:12

      elenalu- I guess is just fair that you make things for the average of the population, it was just a surprise.But maybe I didn’t care much about the fit previously.Who knows LOL

      Reply

  4. Imogen
    Jul 11, 2009 @ 22:51:14

    Interesting post. In Asia you would be considered average to large! I’m 5’6″ and am huge in Asian terms. In fact friends of mine of similar size have been told not to try on clothes and to get out of their shops as they’re ‘fat and would break the clothes’!

    When I lived in the UK I felt like an amazon, Australian women tend to have broader shoulders than their English counterparts, and so I had to get much bigger tops just to fit my shoulders in (and they’re not broad in Aussie standards).

    We’re all different, and that’s what makes us interesting. No matter what your size, we all need some sort of alteration most of the time.

    Reply

    • nurmisur
      Jul 13, 2009 @ 10:56:24

      Imogen- Thank you for visiting and commenting.Now that you talk about it , in Portugal and with european brands in general I have to go up a size with structured jackets because of my shoulders. Most part of the times the rest of the jacket has to be altered.With Canadian and US rands I don’t feel this, what fits in the shoulders usually is also good in the waist.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

