The Kindness of Strangers

I’m very happy to present to you the first guest post in the Category ‘Celebrating Diversity’.

Today we have lovely Caroline form Second Hand Shopper who wrote this wonderful post that she entitled ‘The Kindness of Strangers’ that I hope inspire you all.

Thank you so much Caroline.

Here’s her post:

I’ve been building up my wardrobe for fifteen years now, and finally have plenty of clothes I feel fantastic in. But until recently there was a look I loved but did not have the guts to wear: the full net petticoat.

I love the small-waist-big-skirt silhouette of the early 50s “New Look”. I have plenty of fit and flare dresses that would carry an underskirt, the problem was that I didn’t think I could carry it. I am used to people looking at my outfit choices as I pass – it’s hardly unusual in a small town to be looked at twice if you’re wearing something other than jeans on a Saturday morning. But the net petticoat just felt a step further than my comfort zone would take me.

So, I took my trip to The Clothes Show London as a chance to experiment and push myself. I took my petticoat in a separate bag and slipped it on when I got there…

And I got so many compliments! It’s amazing just how far a stranger’s kind words can push your barriers!

DSC00575

Remember you can participate with one look that makes you feel fabulous.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caroline
    Jun 19, 2009 @ 11:39:28

    No, thank you for featuring me! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

