A simple pair of khaki pants???

(Disclaimer: Today it’s just talk, no pictures. Proceed at your own risk)

(edited to say that pictures of the many ways I wear my khaki pants are here)

I’m a woman that believes in wardrobe staples, the problem is I buy a new version of the same staple every year.Some women have their wardrobe full of white trousers that they never wear, I pursue the quest for the perfect pair of khaki pants.Every spring/summer collection there I am trying kakhi pants. Why does a person who has very defined hips wants khaki pants could be the subject of a totally different post, let’s just say for the sake of argument that I do need a pair of perfect khaki pants.

This year is no different from the others. I even have on my side the fact that the only pair that I brought with me in the capsule wardrobe that I bribed several relatives into bringing to France and then to Canada don’t fit.

So my search begun.The first step that I had to overcome was size. Portuguese sizes are different than Canadian sizes and every brand has it’s own interpretation of what it is a size (let’s call it )Y.A Portuguese Y is not a French Y, I can assure you, actually a French Y can make you cry and think that you became a triple Y no matter what the Y stands for.

Of course you can say ‘You just have to see the conversion chart.’Been  there, done that, didn’t work.

So my first experience in buying jeans in the Eaton begun with a conversation that was almost like a first date:

The nice sales girl: Do you want me to get your jeans size?

Me: Yes, please.Which one do you think it is?

The nice sales girl(looking at my derriere): Maybe a size Y.

Me: Really?Ok, I’ll try it.

And she was right.

So when I went to buy the khaki ts in the Shopping mall near my house I knew in which size to look for. So I though, because eventually I realised that pants and jeans in the same size don’t mean the same thing.When I had tried every pair of khaki pants in the other stores (and believe me when I say that there is a particular store where I don’t feel brave enough to try anything else after I tried every pair of khaki pants in two different sizes)I decided to go to Gap.

I really like Gap,but visiting the one nearest my house is  a torment. The moment I step inside the store manager that still lives inside me starts to snap:

‘Why is the Merchandise all over the place?’

‘Why isn’t anybody acknowledging me and trying to find out if they can help?’

‘Does anyone try to make this place look tidy?’

‘Why aren’t you telling me about the special offers that you have right now?’

Eventually I found a couple of pants, went to the dressing room with no expectation that anyone would give me a different size if I needed it and luckily found a pair of khaki pants that met my requisites.And I prepared for the other task that is very stressful in that store: paying.

I have in my purse a discount coupon that is magical, it only shows itself when I am at home. Whenever I am at the Gap counter to pay I look like a lunatic searching for the coupon and mumbling to the person on the other side of the  counter ‘I  have a coupon around here somewhere’

Of course that in this particular day I also didn’t find it and had to pay(luckily on sale) to a not so smiley sales girl before I left the store and headed for the next coffee so I could rest from all the commotion.

Now I have a pair of khaki pants.Aren’t you curious to know how they are?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sher
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 15:19:28

    I have one of those magical discount coupons too 😀

    Will you model your pants tomorrow??

    Reply

    • nurmisur
      Jun 09, 2009 @ 21:01:16

      Sher- How do the coupons do it?I though it was only me. If the weather alows I’ll wear my pants. 🙂

      Reply

  2. elenalu
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 17:51:08

    haha now you really are making me want to see those pants!!! are you teasing us? will we get to see????

    Reply

  3. The Seeker
    Jun 10, 2009 @ 20:23:39

    Now it’s a must 😉
    You must show your new pants, dear!!!

    xoxo

    Reply

  4. Caroline
    Jun 11, 2009 @ 16:45:49

    Oh, see I hate when people approach me the minute I walk into a shop. There’s nothing more likely to make me turn around and walk out than a sales assistant telling me about their offers! I like to be left to browse at my own pace!

    I did once work in a shop where we had to approach customers immediately. I hated doing that too, as I knew how much I hated it!

    I guess it’s a very British thing though – they even had to phase the greeters out of the Disney store in some cities here! 😀

    Reply

    • nurmisur
      Jun 14, 2009 @ 21:22:50

      Caroline- In general I agree with you, I don’t like people jumping on me whenever I go into a store, but in this ome it comes to the oposite, I actually feel like I’m not welcome, like I have no place to be there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

